Wine and love.

12:04am PDT/3:04am EST

A few things have happened in the past few days worth posting about.

First i’ll start with tonights dinner.  We had dinner with Lelani and Umrao.  They are good friends of my parents in Hawaii.  They have three daughters:  Sonoli, Maile, and Keke. They are so sweet and a ton of fun.  When we were in Napa at Frank Family Vineyards, Tom mentioned that we should get a bottle of wine for them to bring to dinner.  So I picked out two wines – one that I wanted for myself, and one for them.  Tonight we get there and Tom tries to take the bottle from me to give to them.  I was offended.  He says that it was his idea to bring them wine – he wanted to take credit for it.  First off, you don’t know anything about the wine we brought.  Secondly, you might have had the idea to buy them wine, but you didn’t pay for it.  Dad did.  (thanks dad!!)   I was just offended that he would try and take that moment from me.  Bringing someone wine is a very nice gesture, absolutely, but please don’t act like it’s something I wouldn’t have thought of to do for them.  And, wine is my thing.  Yes you know some, but I spent the time picking out the wine for them, choosing between wines at the winery, choosing between the two that I bought. If they don’t like the wine, it’s a reflection on me and my taste because I’m the one trying to get into the wine industry.  But i’ve spent too much time on this portion of my thought.  What I really wanted to say was that they loved it.  Um really likes beer a lot, (which I forgot about and really wanted to bring him some of the portuguese beer i have here!), but he kept saying how good the wine is, and the same with Lelani.  Everyone was really happy with the wine, which made me really happy.  This is why I think I need to be a sommelier.  I care about whether or not people like my choices, and I spend a lot of time making that decision.  I may not know everything, or anything at all, but I still want people to be happy. The wine we brought was a 2005 Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon.  Here is the descirption from Frank Family’s website:

The 2005 Frank Family Vineyard’s Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon is a dense inky purple color. The aromas are abundant; expressing ripe briar-berries juicy black cherries and wild blueberries.

**Winner** Best of Class -2009 San Francisco Chronicle Wine Competition

The second thing that happened that I wanted to post about was a converstion with a friend I had.  My friend Phil, who I actually don’t know very well, messaged me to wish me luck with my blog.  We started talking and I learned things about him I didn’t know before.  He worked at Marketview Liquors in Rochester and had given me a bottle or two of wine at one point, but I never really made the connection that he was interested in wine in the way that I am.  Well we talked the other day about everything and he actually wants to become a winemaker.  I’m really excited for him.  We each have very different interests in the field — I want more schooling, he wants to work with winemakers.  I’m very interested to know more, and to follow up with his path.  It’s exciting to find someone my age, also fresh from college following such a specific yet different path.  I wish him the best of luck, and I hope we can continue to share stories and advice along the way.

On a side note, after dinner tonight we were all sitting in Umrao and Lelani’s living room just talking and having some wine, and they were giving Tom and Amparo some marriage advice.  I took it for myself as well, and my own love life (however you want to interpret that).  They said a few things:

1 – go to bed at the same time together every night.  It opens a connection you don’t even know is happening.  The simple touching and holding each other can do wonders for a relationship. And it’s a consistent “our time.”

2 – if something’s wrong, say it.  Be honest, be open.  If your significant other does something you don’t like, say that right away and be honest about it.  And then fix it.  That way you’ll never let old problems turn into huge problems and you’ll always be on the same page.

Lelani and Umrao are completely in love still, and it’s always so amazing to see them together. They sincerely love each other, completely and thoroughly after 13 years of marriage and 3 kids.  That’s what I want. I want to find someone I can talk to and love, and continue to for the rest of my life.  It was just a nice thing to witness and here them talk about.  They talked to us a lot about relationships in their lives that have failed and those that have worked, and it was just really nice to hear and see how well their relationship has worked.

Leave a Reply

