Goals

Here is a list of my goals:

  • Find a job in wine
  • Become WSET certified
  • Get my M.B.A in Hospitality
  • Become a Master Sommelier (eventually)
  • Find a set direction for this blog
  • Start posting tastings on here
  • Read, drink, learn and understand
  • Drink, eat, and be merry

And here is a list of things I feel about these goals:

Job:

  • I want to find a job that makes me happy
  • I want to find a job that immerses me in wine.
  • I love talking to people, I love working with people, I love helping people.  I want a job that can bring all that together with wine.
  • I want to find a job that’s right for me — that I feel comfortable taking.  If that means moving to California or if it means staying in New England.
  • I really don’t feel comfortable about moving to California right now.  Maybe in a few years, but right now I don’t know that it’s right for me. But if the job was right, then yes.
  • Clearly I don’t know how I really feel about a lot of things.

I was hoping that writing this would force me to really focus on what I want and how I feel about everything.  And it has, but I still have no answers.   I have applied for jobs at hotels, inns, restaurants, bars, wineries, places that are hiring, places that aren’t hiring.  And I haven’t gotten any real responses yet.

Side note:  I discovered a winery online today that I want to investigate further.  I emailed the owner, hopefully he’ll either have a job opening or at least be able to give me some advice.  It’s Travessia Urban Winery in New Bedford, MA.  From the sounds of it they only opened this past December, but I’m going to read a little more about it.  The owner has a blog and I read a little of it today but I’m going to sit down and really read some more about it.  And hopefully find some of their wines to taste soon.

Also, I went on a wine tour in New York this weekend.  I’ll write more about it later.  For now I need to get to running, gotta keep in shape for soccer.  It’s been kicking my arse lately.  Also, lately I’ve found that running has really helped to clear my thoughts, and I tend to be more focused about things after a good run.

Leave a Reply

