Wine is better when it’s free

So its been quite some time since I’ve updated.  Lots has happened.  I moved into a new apartment.  It’s nice having an apartment to myself, and Jelly seems to really like it here too which is good.  I’ve got two bedrooms and a really big kitchen and living room.  I even have some really furniture finally which is great, no more tupperware drawers as my desk/dresser, and I have two really nice couches my parents brought from my house, and hopefully I’ll be getting a better TV soon!

Work has been good.  We’ve been having our soft opening over the past week so friends of employees have been coming in to dine.  I’ve been working as the sommelier at lunches, which has been really great.  I’ve basically just been pouring wine, opening bottles etc.  But the best part is that I get to taste wine all day.  Anytime someone orders a bottle of wine, I open it and “qualify” the wine, meaning I pour myself a small taste to ensure that it meets quality standards – it’s not corked, the temperature is correct, and it tastes the way the last bottle of the same wine did.  Also, yesterday at lunch I started learning bartending, which is great.  We’re having 5 signature cocktails on our list, so I’ve been learning how to make those.  We have a Goosewing Martini, which is a vodka, ginger and grand marnier martini; Death in the Afternoon, which is absinthe and champage; Mint Julep which is similar to a mojito, but with bourbon instead of rum, and typically no lime; and a Clover Club which is new to most of the bartenders but it’s got gin, bitters, lime and raspberry. They’re all pretty easy to make, but it’s a lot to learn.  It’s been fun though, I really like it.  Tomorrow I’ll be waiting tables at dinner, but hopefully I won’t be doing too much of that.  Working as a bartender or sommelier we make the same as the waiters and are in the tip pool so if I can make the same money, I’d much rather be working with cocktails.  I still have a lot to learn though, which is great.  It’s also really great that Andrew, my hiring manager, and Joe, the resident wine guru, have enough faith in me to let me run with the wine at lunch alone.  Erin, the hired sommelier has been working wine at dinners, so hopefully I’ll get to work more closely with her soon.  She’s very nice, and very very knowledgeable, so I’m hoping I’ll find some time to pick her brain and I know I’ll be able to learn a lot from her.  But all in all, I’m pretty happy with the job.  Of course, there’s some people that are frustrating to work with, but for the most part I’ve just been working with the bartenders and they’ve been really great. The only downside is that I haven’t had much time to sit and study, but I’m not working sundays now, so I’m hoping to make Sunday my study day, we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

