A quick update..

Well I haven’t had a real update in a while, so I guess I should now.  Work’s been good, and bad.  It’s been frustrating because I’ve been working a lot of lunches, and there isn’t much money in working lunches.  But I have been able to spend a lot of time with the bartenders learning different drinks and things.  I’ve also been able to spend a lot of time learning about the wines on our list, which is great.  I’m going to sit down and really research the wine list so I can be as prepared as possible.  I have had a few opportunities to work as the sommelier for dinners, which has been great.  I’m hoping for more, but I understand that I need to become more knowledgable before they can feel confident about having me on as the sommelier often.  But in other news:  this week I’m training at the bar a lot, which is great.  I had been asking to get experience in that, and last Monday my manager scheduled me to work the bar at lunch, alone.  It was a little scary, but the only drinks I ended up needing to make were from our cocktail list, and I already know how to make most of those.  I bought a few bartending books this weekend and have started to look through them so I’ll be as prepared as possible.  It’s great, because I hate waiting tables.  I’m okay at it, but I don’t really enjoy it.  I know that it’ll be good experience to have, so I just really need to suck it up and deal with the bad parts of the job and focus on the good parts.

I’ve been trying to get in touch with Edward Korry, the instructor for the WSET courses offered through Johnson & Wales.  He still hasn’t gotten back to me, so I’m starting to get a little worried about that.  Hopefully I’ll hear from him soon though so that I can sign up and actually start my education.  I haven’t been doing as much independent work as I had planned, so I really need to sit down and focus on that.  The Gallo Wine Academy is a great resource and I need to take more advantage.

In other news – a new wine my Dad and I discovered is a California Pinot Noir. 2008 Redtree Pinot Noir from St. Helena, California.

red_tree_MED

It’s an amazingly smooth, but very well rounded pinot, that I’ve found needs to be served chilled.  When it’s served at room temperature, it has a sort of bitter quality to it.  But I brought a bottle to a friend’s for dinner last week and had chilled it for about an hour before hand it tasted great by the time we opened it.  He’s not a huge wine drinker, but said that he really liked it which is always good. It drank very easily and we finished the bottle without even realizing it, another good sign of a really good wine.  It’s about $13 a bottle at the local liquor store, and they actually have been having difficulty getting it.  Because of it’s popularity, they’re limited to ordering only 2 cases a month, which is unfortunate for them because we bought one of them already.  The clerk also told me that it’s difficult to find elsewhere, so if you see a bottle, I’d highly recommend grabbing one or two!

Leave a Reply

