What a difference the right people in your life make..

So I know I’ve promised to be better at updating this.  But it’s been a crazy few weeks! So here’s a massive update.

First off – Hawaii!!

This is how Lauren and I spent most of our vacation

I had an amazing three weeks.  I want canoeing, paddle-boarding, and kayaking.  I saw a volcano and went off-roading.  I ate amazing food, and had amazing wine. My parents have a lot of really amazing friends there, and a lot that are very involved in wine.  We spent a lot of time with Gabe & Maria, who I had met in California last March.  They are from Portugal and make their own moonshine. Awesome.  We had lots of Primavera(which is like Portuguese grappa) and Anisette liquor, and Portuguese Brandy’s. It was amazing.

One night while I was there, the neighbors threw a wine dinner.  They hired a chef-friend of theirs to cook a 5 course meal, and invited 2 other friends: a fine-wine shop owner and a sommelier, Alvin and Alex.  We had 13 wines total over the course of the evening.  Here is the list of the wines we had:

  • Henriot Brut
  • Krug Grand Cuvee Brut
  • Corton Charlemagne
  • Illumination Sauvignon Blanc/Semillion by Quintessa
  • 2007 Domaine Dujac Clos Saint-Denis Grand Cru, Morey-Saint-Denis
  • 1997 Domaine de Trevallon
  • 2000 Chateauneuf du Pape Domaine Chart Vaucluse
  • 2002 Nuits Saint George aux Cru
  • Quintessa Proprietary Red Blend
  • 2004 HaLo Cabernet by Trefethen Family Vineyards
  • 2006 Far Niente Cabernet
  • Dutton-Goldfield Pinot Noir
  • 2005 Masi Campofiorin

It was really such an amazing night.  Alvin and Alex made a point to share their knowledge and information with me.  They spent hours giving me amazing professional and personal advice.  It was one of the best nights of the entire trip.

And then I came home, to work. And work has been insane.  Our manager, who was in charge of making the liquor orders and working with the distributors quit without any notice.  So Eric, the bartender, and I were asked to step up and take charge of that position. It has been awesome and insane.  I’ve been meeting with distributors and I’m working on an entirely new wine list for both The Tap Room, and for when Pietra re-opens this spring. It’s so exciting to have this new responsibility.  I’m making all of the decisions when it comes to the wine lists, Kim, the current F&B director, has been entirely hands off and has really been letting me run with it. It is exactly why I took the job at The Stone House in the first place. So although it’s completely stressing me out, and at times is extremely frustrating, I love it. And I’m so excited to see where it takes me. Last weekend I had an opportunity to work a dinner for Dennis Toner of the Nantucket Food and Wine Festival. They were tasting and judging a selection of wines, and Dennis Toner wanted to make sure I got to taste them all as well, so here’s the list of the 10 different wines:

  • Heidsieck & Co Monopole Blue Top Brut Champagne
  • 2005 Chateau de Fieuzal Grand Vin de Graves
  • 2004 Vincent Girardin Chassagne-Montrachet 1er Cru
  • 2005 Vincent Girardin Corton Renardes Grand Cru
  • 2007 Halter Ranch Cote de Paso
  • 2006 Halter Ranch Syrah
  • 2006 Halter Ranch Cabernet Sauvignon
  • 2005 Grgich Hills Cabernet Sauvignon
  • 2006 Caymus “Special Selection” Cabernet Sauvignon
  • 2001 Barton & Guestier Sauternes

It was so amazing to be able to be a part of their tasting.  Dennis Toner was really nice to me and gave me some great advice.  He even invited me to come out to Nantucket any time to check out the festival, and meet some of the winemakers and everything.

So now a personal life update:  I met a boy. Here’s a picture:

Lauren and I share everything.

Just kidding, that’s Captain Jack.  But it’s been great so far, now my mom doesn’t have to sign me up for the Bachelor.  Also, SolFly came for a visit this weekend! It was sooo good, and soo necessary to see everyone!  Joe, Amanda, Steve, Arion, Michael and Kevo were all around for an amazing weekend of beers and meat.  We cooked up and ate a ton of food, and had a really great time together. Also, congratulations are in order: Kevo & Christine are engaged! They’ve been engaged for a few weeks but haven’t told anyone until this weekend. So officially, from the gang (minus Steve and Michael)…

CONGRATULATIONS KEVO & CHRISTINE!!

Leave a Reply

