Cinnamon Sticks and Rum

It’s getting chilly out there! The other night it was rainy and foggy and Jeff was off at class, so I was left alone with the TV and a comforter on the couch. A glass of wine would be my first choice on a night like that, but I did just buy a gallon of fresh, local apple cider. I am a big fan of the Coffee Exchange on Wickenden St, and they have me hooked on their Chai Spiced Cider. So I decided to try it at home (with an extra kick for good measure).

I heated the cider on the stove with one Tazo Organic Chai Tea bag. I poured it into my favorite mug and added one shot of The Lash spiced rum. This rum is great if you like truly spicy rums. You can see bits of vanilla and cinnamon floating in the bottle. It’s great for baking! French toast, anybody??

So after that warming and calming drink, I switched over to the non-alcoholic version. The preparation was the same, except instead of adding the rum at the end, I added cinnamon, vanilla sugar, and nutmeg to the pot with the Chai Tea bag. The flavor was spot on, just without the alcohol-heat at the finish.

If you’re not a cider fan, but you’re looking for the perfect winter warmers, here’s a few other fall recipes I love!

Classic Whiskey Hot Toddy

  • 1 oz Whiskey (I prefer Jameson)
  • 1 cup hot water
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • ¼ Lemon
  • 1 stick of cinnamon
  • 1 Tea bag (optional)

Coat the bottom of a glass coffee mug with honey. Add whiskey and lemon quarter. Heat water until almost boiling and pour into glass. Add tea bag and steep if desired.

Spiced Wine

  • 1 bottle of medium bodied red wine such as Malbec
  • 1 Lemon, quartered
  • ½ cup of sugar, white sugar is fine, but I prefer Sugar in the Raw
  • 8 whole cloves
  • 4 cinnamon sticks

In a 4 qt saucepan, heat all ingredients until almost boiling, stirring often. Serve hot with a lemon wedge and cinnamon stick.  Or for a party, serve in a crock pot on low heat.

Modern English, courtesy of The Huffington Post

  • Cinnamon stick
  • 2 Lemon quarters
  • 1/2 oz Maple syrup
  • 1/2 Pear
  • 2.5 oz Gin, try Bulldog or New Amsterdam

Muddle the lemon, pear and maple syrup in a shaker. Add gin and shake with ice. Strain into a Martini glass and garnish with the cinnamon stick. 

One thought on “Cinnamon Sticks and Rum

Leave a Reply

