Vodka Sour.. Sort of

In August, Jeff and I went down to the DC/Baltimore area to visit some friends. We had just finished touring the monuments in DC, when it started to storm, so we booked it to what is now my favorite bar. Founding Farmers is a restaurant and bar offering Farm to Table dishes and innovative cocktails. We went in just to have a drink or two, but 4 hours later and 6 cocktails deep, I had fallen in love. It was the first time I had had an egg white cocktail, and ever since, I have been craving a Vodka Sour.

And I’ve also been looking for a good excuse to use this awesome ice mold I bought!

So tonight I am attempting to make my very first homemade vodka* whiskey sour. You may call this a half-assed attempt, but I call it fortitude. I don’t keep sour mix on hand, nor do we typically have lemons lying around, but in cleaning the fridge this afternoon I found a perfectly good lime and a half a lemon! I think that’s the makings of a fairly decent homemade sour mix. Luckily, I love iced coffee, so I always have simple syrup in the fridge. And since I could eat eggs for every meal, every day, we of course have a dozen on hand. So here goes nothing…

  • Ice
  • 3 oz of vodka whiskey
  • 1 oz of simple syrup
  • An egg white
  • 1 1/2 oz of lemon juice Juice from ½ lemon and 1 small lime
  • Angostura Bitters I’m all out.

Great success! Now I’m sure to most this doesn’t seem like the most innovative or difficult cocktail. But I’ve never made a cocktail with egg whites before, and I feel like the ratio of ingredients to egg white is very important. I didn’t quite nail that ratio – my drink could be a bit more rich – but not bad considering my lack of preparation! Next week I’ll step up the difficulty level a few notches. Mimosas anyone?

*Make sure you check the liquor cabinet before preparing all of the ingredients. Preparation is key, people!

2 thoughts on “Vodka Sour.. Sort of

    • It’s primarily texture. It adds a thickness as well as a frothy-foam on top. Think of it like the foam on a cappuccino. But it also adds a complexity and deepness to the flavor. It softens the acidity of the citrus but also brightens the flavor of it.

Leave a Reply

