Cotes Du Bored

One of my go-to wine regions has always been the Cotes du Rhone. I’m a big fan of Burgundian Pinot Noirs, but sometimes I need something with a little more body and a little less earth. Heading over to Rhone offers red wines that are more rich than Pinot, but not as full as a Cabernet. The flavors and aromas are ripe and fruity with a balanced earthy texture. CDR’s are extremely food friendly and can almost literally be paired with any meal.

Which is why, they’ve always been a must-have for me. We don’t plan ahead most nights, so we tend to whip up whatever is in the fridge. Chicken stir fry, salmon with pesto, pasta. CDR’s can go with any of these! It’s so easy because you don’t have to think too hard. But I think I’m done. I think it’s time to find my new must-have/go-to standard wine. I’m just getting bored.

The last few times we opened a CDR, I was disappointed. I don’t blame the wine. I blame myself.  Some of it might be that it’s winter and I’ve been really looking for some good full-bodied reds. But as I mentioned in my last post, I want to expand my drinking horizons a little bit this year. So this falls right in line with that.

This past weekend we had a Zinfandel from Ridge Vineyards, which was awesome, and last week I had Bogle Petite Sirah. Although both were great, and I’ll always give props to Ridge for their amaZINg Zins (ha), they weren’t necessarily what I was looking for. Rich, plummy and super fruit forward, they were definitely delicious but almost desserty to me. I think I need to find a good, full-bodied, meaty red. I’m on the hunt.

What wines have you guys had lately that you’re loving?

Leave a Reply

