The Varietals

There are six “noble grapes,” Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc, Riesling, Pinot Noir, Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon. They are considered ‘noble’ for a variety of reasons, but mainly, they are just the most popular and widely shopped varietals. Five were born in France, while Riesling got it’s start in Germany, although it is also widely planted in Alsace, France. These six grapes are certainly the most important to know because of their popularity in the marketplace, but in addition to these, there are many others that are just as important to know: Zinfandel, Malbec, Pinot Grigio/Gris and Syrah/Shiraz. But the list of varietals doesn’t stop there, there are thousands grown throughout the world.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s