ICYMI: #EveryGlass WineDown

Highlighting just how much we actually drink..

A few months ago Jeff dared me to post every glass of wine that I drink, so I started posting #everyglass on Instagram and Vivino, and now, here. So here’s your WineDown for the past few weeks! 

Ahhh summertime! It’s finally too hot to think, and that makes my heart happy. I’d much rather be hot than cold, because at least then I can cool down with some refreshing cocktails. Summer drinks are much better than winter drinks, in my humble opinion. But of course, again, I’m neglecting my poor blog. So, another lengthy update. But don’t worry, I have a very refreshing cocktail of the week for you at the end 🙂

IMG_1197

La Valentina Cerasolo Montepulciano d’Abruzzo Rosé is bold with sweet aromas of cherries, red berries and watermelon. The palate is soft with fruit flavors of watermelon, strawberry and raspberry notes. This medium bodied rosé has big fruit notes with a delicate semi-dry finish. Definitely not your typical Provence style!

 

IMG_1234

2013 Hogwash Rosé from Tuckbeckstoffer has full, bright aromas of grapefruit-reminiscent of a New Zealand Sauvignon blanc. Notes of green apple, pear and white flowers lead to a crisp and refreshing palate. The bright acidity is balanced by notes of grapefruit, peach and fresh herbs. The finish is long, balanced and refreshingly light. I know I’ve said this before, but THIS might be my new favorite rosé!

IMG_1306

Nobilo’s 2014 Sauvignon Blanc from New Zealand is crisp and light with bright aromas and flavors of sweet pink grapefruit, fresh herbs and green grass. The palate is soft with a sweet fruit finish balanced by a delicate acidity. Perfect for a light vegetarian meal, like veggie enchiladas.

IMG_1316

Marc Morey is one of my favorite producers of white burgundy and this five year old beauty did not disappoint. The 2010 Chassagne-Montrachet opened with deep and full aromas of Meyer lemon, baked apple and cream. But they develop into crisp notes of white pepper, anise, citrus and fresh herbs. The palate is full with flavors of white pepper, lemon, citrus fruits and cream. There are soft banana and tropical fruit notes balanced by a crisp, spiced acidity on the smooth creamy finish.

11376455_679694978841406_1732891018_n

Long Meadow Ranch’s Rutherford Sauvignon Blanc is super light with fresh aromas and flavors of lemon, papaya and green grass. The palate is bright with refreshing notes of tropical and citrus fruits. Herbs and green grass notes linger through the long finish. A nice summer porch white, perfect for a hot afternoon!

IMG_1737

Michel Olivier’s Methode Traditionelle Brut Cremant de Limoux is delicately blush with fresh aromas of red berries, almond, yeast and lemon curd. The palate is bright with a fine mousse and notes of lemon merengue, strawberry and brioche. It’s been hard to find, so this bottle made the trek home from Hawaii, and it’s so worth it!

IMG_1755

It’s been too hot and humid to not have the AC on, so I’m finally chilly enough to drink some red wine! Domaine Serene’s Yamhill Cuvée Pinot Noir from the Willamette Valley, Oregon is bright and rich at the same time! Maybe it’s because I haven’t had any Pinot in a while, but I’m loving this beauty! The aromas are bright and full with notes of black cherry, sour cherry and allspice. The palate is rich and elegant with soft black cherry, juicy plum and spice notes. There are hints of mushroom-earth and sweet baking spices on the long, elegant finish.

 

Cocktail of the Week!

IMG_1787

It’s hot! How about something light, crisp and refreshing to cool off with? A classic vodka gimlet or sour is probably my favorite cocktail, and I’m always looking for new, fun versions. I’ve been loving strawberry basil gimlets lately, but I ran out of strawberries and was looking for something a little less sweet, so how about some cucumber?

Cucumber Basil Gimlet

  • 3 slices cucumber
  • Three basil leaves
  • Juice of one lime
  • 3oz vodka
  • A dash of simple syrup

Muddle the basil and cucumber with the simple syrup and lime juice. Add vodka and shake with ice until well chilled. Strain into a martini glass and garnish with a slice of cucumber. It’s light, fresh and super aromatic.

What have you been drinking, something yummy I hope! What should I try next week?

PS: I’m working on a new series for the blog. This summer hasn’t been all fun and games, don’t worry! So don’t give up on me 🙂

Cheers!

Leave a comment