Whiskey Wednesday

 

Inspired by my cocktail loving friend, and new father, Scott, I decided to try my hand at some homemade cocktail cherries. One of my all time favorite cocktails is an old fashioned (second to a Pisco Sour), and you can’t have a good old fashioned without a good cherry. Luxardo cherries are amazing and delicious, but expensive. How hard can it be to make your own?

 

Thankfully, not that hard. All I needed was some bourbon, some sugar and some cherries.

 

IMG_6525

Bourbon Cocktail Cherries

  • 4 cups cherries – washed, destemmed and pitted
  • 3 1/2 cups bourbon
  • 3 cups sugar
  • Vanilla bean (optional)

Prepare the cherries and place into mason jars.

Over medium heat, mix bourbon and sugar until full dissolved. Continue simmering for about 15 minutes, until mixture is slightly thickened. Pour mixture over cherries and seal jars. Let sit for about a week in the fridge.

I made two batches – one regular and one vanilla. I just added a vanilla bean to the jar. After about a week, they’re still fairly boozy, but hey, I’m just going to add them to some whiskey anyways!

 

Cheers!

Leave a comment